MIL8 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

MIL8 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The published initial MIL8 fee is USD 94 per test plus a USD 34 registration fee per order, before tax.
  • Listed U.S. UMGC NTC sites charge no sitting fee; described OCONUS UMGC NTCs charge USD 35 per appointment.
  • Register and pay in myASE first, then book your appointment with the NTC directly, not through myASE scheduling.
  • You can test before meeting the experience requirement, but certification needs ASE approval of your work record.

The MIL8 Cost at a Glance

If you are budgeting for the ASE Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle Certification MIL8 (Preventive Maintenance Checks & Services, or PMCS), the good news is that the core cost is modest compared with many professional credentials. The exam is issued and administered by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), and its published fee structure is built from just a few pieces.

Cost ComponentAmountNotes
MIL8 test feeUSD 94 per testInitial certification test
Registration feeUSD 34 per orderCharged per order, not per test
Sitting fee, listed U.S. UMGC NTC sitesNoneNo admin/sitting fee at those sites
Sitting fee, described OCONUS UMGC NTCsUSD 35 per appointmentPaid to the NTC
Applicable taxVariesAdded on top of published fees

For a single MIL8 attempt at a U.S. site with no sitting fee, the published baseline is USD 94 plus USD 34, which comes to USD 128 before any applicable tax. That is the number most candidates should plan around. The rest of this guide explains what can push that total up or down.

Why the baseline matters: The USD 34 registration fee is charged per order. Because it is not tied to a single test, candidates who plan several ASE military tests together should look carefully at how their order is structured before checking out.

How the Fees Actually Work

The per-test fee

The USD 94 per-test fee covers one sitting of the MIL8 written exam. That exam is a proctored, computer-based, multiple-choice test with one correct answer per question. You will see 50 administered questions: 40 scored questions plus 10 unscored research questions. You have 60 minutes. The unscored questions are not identified, so you should treat all 50 as if they count.

The per-order registration fee

The USD 34 registration fee applies once per order. It is a fixed administrative charge, separate from the test fee. If you place one order for one test, you pay it once.

A note on the fee table labeling

One quirk worth knowing: ASE's current public fee table labels its explicit MIL2-MIL8 price row "Military Fundamentals," which does not match the actual exam names. The USD 94 figure used here comes from the explicit exam-code range covering MIL8. If the label confuses you when you reach the registration page, that is a presentation inconsistency in the table, not a different exam. When in doubt, confirm the exam code on screen before paying.

Sitting Fees: CONUS vs. OCONUS

Military candidates often test at a National Testing Center (NTC) rather than a civilian site, and this is where location changes your total.

  • Listed U.S. UMGC NTC sites: no admin or sitting fee.
  • Described OCONUS UMGC NTCs: USD 35 per appointment, paid directly to the NTC.

The OCONUS sitting fee is per appointment, not per test. If you are stationed overseas and sit for a single exam, expect USD 35 on top of the test and registration fees. Because the fee attaches to the appointment, how you group your testing matters for your overall spend.

ScenarioTest FeeRegistrationSitting FeeSubtotal (before tax)
Single MIL8 at a listed U.S. UMGC NTCUSD 94USD 34USD 0USD 128
Single MIL8 at a described OCONUS UMGC NTCUSD 94USD 34USD 35USD 163

Applicable tax and any other location-specific sitting fees are not included in these figures. Check the Military Program page for your specific site before you budget, since it is the authoritative source for location details.

The Hidden Requirement: Work Experience

Passing the exam does not by itself make you certified. ASE certification requires passing the test and ASE-approved work experience: two years of full-time repair-technician experience, or an accepted part-time equivalent or formal-training substitution. ASE processes this through its work-experience form.

The practical implication for your budget is that you may test before you meet the experience requirement. ASE allows candidates to sit for the exam first, but certification is only awarded once ASE approves your experience record. That flexibility can be a real advantage: you can lock in a passing result while your experience accrues. It also means you should not assume a passing score equals a credential in hand. For a deeper look at eligibility, see our guide to MIL8 requirements, prerequisites, and how to qualify.

Budget tip: The work-experience path itself has no separate fee in the sources used for this article, but the time cost is real. Gather your unit records, supervisor details, and dates of repair work early so the approval step does not delay your certification after you pass.

Retakes and Recertification Costs

If you need a second attempt

Each sitting is a new purchase. A retake means paying the per-test fee again, plus whatever registration and sitting charges apply to the new order or appointment. For a candidate at a listed U.S. site, a second attempt would repeat the USD 94 test fee and the USD 34 registration charge if placed as a new order. For an OCONUS site, add the USD 35 sitting fee. Retake waiting-period rules are not covered in the sources used for this article, so confirm them with ASE before you schedule.

The simplest way to avoid paying twice is to arrive prepared. Our difficulty guide for the MIL8 exam explains where candidates tend to struggle, and our MIL8 pass rate article discusses what is and is not publicly known about outcomes. Note that a current MIL8-specific passing-score threshold and pass rate were not verified in the cited public issuer sources, so be skeptical of any site quoting precise numbers.

Staying certified

MIL8 certification is valid for five years. To renew, you take the corresponding MIL8R recertification test. Plan for another test-related cost at that point; current recertification pricing should be confirmed on the ASE fee page when you approach your expiration date, rather than assumed from the initial fee.

Paying and Booking: The Military Program Path

Many candidates lose time, not money, by following the wrong scheduling route. The Military Program page lays out a specific sequence that differs from general ASE scheduling guidance.

  1. Register and pay in myASE. This is where the USD 94 test fee and USD 34 registration fee are collected.
  2. Book your appointment with your NTC. Appointment booking is location-specific and handled by the NTC itself.
  3. Do not use myASE appointment scheduling or call Prometric for this route. The Military Program page explicitly says not to.

Initial MIL testing is in person at a proctored site. Prometric and ASE satellite test centers are the provider locations, but military candidates should follow the NTC-based path above. For a rundown of timing, see our MIL8 exam dates and scheduling guide.

Key Takeaway

Pay first in myASE, then book with your NTC. Following the general civilian scheduling instructions can cost you days and cause confusion. The Military Program page takes precedence for MIL8.

Where Prep Money Is Best Spent

The exam fee is small relative to the cost of failing and retaking, so the smartest spending goes toward preparation that targets the exam's actual content. The scope source is The Official ASE Study Guide: Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle Technician Certification Program (2023), which publishes the MIL8 specification table and task list. It is freely linked by ASE, so your most important study resource costs nothing.

Beyond the official guide, allocate effort according to the weighted domains. Here is how the six content areas break down:

DomainWeightScored Questions (where published)
General PMCS Documentation and Procedures7%Not specified here
Engine Systems18%Not specified here
Cab and Body12%Not specified here
Electrical/Electronics20%8
Frame and Chassis33%13
Road/Operational Test10%4

Frame and Chassis (33%, 13 scored questions)

This is the largest content area by a wide margin, and it should absorb the biggest share of your study time. Candidates need fluency in the systems that carry and control a heavy tactical wheeled vehicle.

  • Know the inspection points and service checks for chassis components.
  • Practice recognizing deficiencies and the correct maintenance response.
  • Be able to read a PMCS-style task and identify what is being checked and why.

Electrical/Electronics (20%, eight scored questions)

The second-largest area. Electrical questions reward systematic troubleshooting logic and comfort with the checks a PMCS routine would perform.

  • Understand what an inspection of electrical components looks for.
  • Be ready for scenario questions that ask for the most likely cause or next check.

Road/Operational Test (10%, four scored questions)

Do not mistake this for a driving test. It is a written knowledge-exam content area, not a separate practical assessment. Expect questions about what to observe and verify during an operational check.

A full walkthrough of each area is in our complete guide to all six MIL8 content areas, and our MIL8 study guide shows how to sequence your preparation. Frame and Chassis plus Electrical/Electronics together account for 53% of the exam, so lopsided preparation that favors them is justified, while General PMCS Documentation and Procedures at 7% should not be ignored since it underpins how every other question is framed.

For realistic question practice that mirrors the multiple-choice, one-correct-answer format, use the MIL8 practice tests on the main site. Practice spending is usually the best value after the free study guide, because it exposes weak domains before you pay for an actual sitting.

Sample Budget Scenarios

These examples use only the published fee components. They exclude tax, travel, and unpublished location-specific fees.

ScenarioComponentsSubtotal (before tax)
First-try pass, U.S. NTC94 + 34USD 128
First-try pass, OCONUS NTC94 + 34 + 35USD 163
One retake, U.S. NTC (new order each time)(94 + 34) x 2USD 256
One retake, OCONUS NTC (new order each time)(94 + 34 + 35) x 2USD 326

The retake rows assume each attempt is a separate order with its own registration fee and appointment. Your actual total depends on how you place your orders and on local tax, so treat these as planning estimates rather than quotes.

Cost versus payoff

Certification cost is only half of the picture. To judge whether the investment makes sense for your career, read our ROI analysis of the MIL8 certification and our earnings analysis. We deliberately avoid quoting specific salary numbers here, since this article's job is to price the credential, not to promise a return.

A short, MIL8-specific scheduling idea

Because Frame and Chassis is 33% of the exam, schedule it first in your prep calendar and revisit it last, with Electrical/Electronics second in priority. Save General PMCS Documentation and Procedures for a lighter midweek review since it is only 7%, and fold Road/Operational Test into your final week as a capstone, since it depends on understanding the other five areas. Book your appointment only after your practice results in the two heaviest domains are consistently solid, which is the surest way to avoid paying for a second sitting.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the MIL8 exam cost in 2026?

The published initial fee is USD 94 per test plus a USD 34 registration fee per order, before applicable tax and any location-specific sitting fees. At a listed U.S. UMGC NTC with no sitting fee, that is USD 128 before tax.

Is there an extra fee for testing overseas?

At the described OCONUS UMGC NTCs, there is a USD 35 fee per appointment, paid to the NTC. The listed U.S. UMGC NTC sites do not charge an admin or sitting fee.

Do I schedule through myASE or Prometric?

For the Military Program, register and pay in myASE, then book your appointment directly with your NTC. The Military Program page says not to use myASE appointment scheduling or call Prometric for this route.

Can I take the exam before I have two years of experience?

Yes. Candidates may test before meeting the experience requirement, but certification requires ASE approval of your work-experience record, which calls for two years of full-time repair-technician experience or an accepted equivalent.

How long does MIL8 certification last, and how do I renew it?

It is valid for five years. You renew by passing the corresponding MIL8R recertification test. Confirm the current recertification fee on the ASE fee page before your expiration date.

Whatever your budget, the best way to protect it is to be ready on test day. Review the MIL8 passing score article to understand what is and is not published, and build your readiness with the MIL8 Exam Prep practice questions before you commit to a sitting.

Ready to pass your MIL8 exam?

Put this into practice with free MIL8 questions across every exam domain.