- The Exam at a Glance
- Domain Weights and Question Counts
- Frame and Chassis: The 33% Domain
- Electrical/Electronics: The 20% Domain
- Engine, Cab and Body, Documentation, and Road Test
- Registration, Fees, and Booking Mechanics
- Experience Requirement and Renewal
- What Is Not Verified
- A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The exam has 50 administered questions: 40 scored plus 10 unscored research questions, in 60 minutes.
- Frame and Chassis is 33% (13 scored questions); Electrical/Electronics follows at 20% (eight).
- Initial testing is in person at Prometric or ASE satellite centers; book the appointment at a location-specific NTC after paying in myASE.
- Fee: USD 94 per test plus USD 34 registration per order, before tax and sitting fees.
The Exam at a Glance
This page condenses the facts that matter most for the ASE Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle Certification, MIL8: Preventive Maintenance Checks & Services (PMCS). It is administered by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) and is one of the military tactical wheeled vehicle tests in ASE's military program. The scope comes from the Official ASE Study Guide for the Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle Technician Certification Program (2023), where the MIL8 specification table appears on page 45 and the task list on pages 45-51.
| Item | MIL8 Fact |
|---|---|
| Issuer/administrator | National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) |
| Format | Proctored, computer-based, multiple-choice, one correct answer per question |
| Questions administered | 50 (40 scored + 10 unscored research questions) |
| Time | 60 minutes |
| Initial testing | In person only |
| Provider | Prometric and ASE satellite test centers |
| Initial fee | USD 94 per test + USD 34 registration per order |
| Certification validity | Five years |
| Recertification | Corresponding MIL8R test |
Because ten of the 50 questions do not count, you cannot tell which ones they are, so treat every question as scored. For a broader orientation to the credential, see What Is MIL8 Certification? and the overview at MIL8 Certification.
Domain Weights and Question Counts
The six content areas below are the official top-level exam content areas, not preparation-curriculum headings. The published weights are used as stated.
| Domain | Weight | Scored Questions (where published) |
|---|---|---|
| 1. General PMCS Documentation and Procedures | 7% | Not separately stated here |
| 2. Engine Systems | 18% | Not separately stated here |
| 3. Cab and Body | 12% | Not separately stated here |
| 4. Electrical/Electronics | 20% | 8 |
| 5. Frame and Chassis | 33% | 13 |
| 6. Road/Operational Test | 10% | 4 |
For a deeper walk through each area, read MIL8 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Frame and Chassis: The 33% Domain
With 13 scored questions, this is the single biggest block on the exam. A candidate who is weak here has very little room to recover elsewhere. Because the exam is built around PMCS, expect questions framed as inspection and service judgment: what to check, what a finding means, and whether a condition is serviceable or needs correction.
Frame and Chassis: What to Master
Think of this domain as everything that keeps a tactical wheeled vehicle structurally sound and controllable while it moves under load.
- Frame and mounting inspection: cracks, loose or missing fasteners, and signs of damage or corrosion
- Suspension components and what wear or leakage looks like during a PMCS walkaround
- Steering linkage and related components, including looseness and damage checks
- Braking system inspection points, fluid and line condition, and leak indicators
- Axles, driveline, and wheel-end items such as hubs, fasteners, and seals
- Tires and wheels: condition, inflation, mounting hardware, and wear patterns
The key skill is recognizing a deficiency and knowing the correct next step in the PMCS sequence. Memorizing component names is not enough on its own. If you want a structured route through this material, the MIL8 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt lays out a sequence that fits.
Electrical/Electronics: The 20% Domain
Eight scored questions come from this area, making it the second-largest. Military tactical wheeled vehicles carry electrical loads beyond a standard commercial truck, so PMCS electrical checks go further than a battery glance.
Electrical/Electronics: What to Master
Focus on inspection logic and condition recognition rather than deep circuit design.
- Batteries and cables: terminal condition, corrosion, security, and electrolyte or charge-related checks
- Charging system components and what abnormal indicators suggest
- Starting system basics and inspection points
- Lighting and signaling: operation checks and typical failure causes
- Wiring and harness condition: chafing, loose connectors, and routing problems
- Gauges, warning indicators, and instrument panel checks
Engine, Cab and Body, Documentation, and Road Test
Engine Systems (18%)
Engine Systems is the third-heaviest area. PMCS-level engine knowledge centers on fluid levels and condition, leaks, belts and hoses, cooling system checks, air intake and filtration indicators, fuel system inspection points, and exhaust condition. Know what a normal reading or appearance looks like so you can spot the abnormal one in a question stem.
Cab and Body (12%)
This area covers items a crew relies on every day: doors, latches, seats and restraints, mirrors, glass and wipers, heating and defrost items, body mounting, and load-carrying hardware. The questions reward attention to safety-related condition checks, such as seat belts and restraint hardware, rather than cosmetic issues.
General PMCS Documentation and Procedures (7%)
The smallest domain is also the most distinctive to this credential. It tests the PMCS process itself: why checks are performed at set intervals, how to follow a PMCS table, how to record deficiencies, and how to determine whether a vehicle may be operated. Don't skip it because it is only 7%. The concepts here underpin how questions in every other domain are framed, and the points are comparatively easy to earn.
Road/Operational Test (10%)
Four scored questions cover what to observe during operation: steering response, braking behavior, unusual noises, vibration, gauge readings, and how to interpret what you notice. Again, this is written knowledge, not a driving evaluation.
Key Takeaway
The smaller domains are not throwaways. Documentation, Cab and Body, and Road/Operational Test together make up 29% of the exam, and their concepts are more transferable and quicker to learn than the heavy mechanical areas.
Registration, Fees, and Booking Mechanics
The MIL8 route differs from general ASE scheduling guidance, which is the most common source of confusion. Follow the military program process:
- Register and pay in your myASE account.
- Book your appointment at a location-specific NTC (national test center). The Military Program page says not to use myASE appointment scheduling and not to call Prometric for this route.
- Arrive for an in-person, proctored session. Initial MIL testing is not offered remotely.
| Cost Element | Amount |
|---|---|
| Test fee | USD 94 per test |
| Registration fee | USD 34 per order |
| Sitting fee, listed U.S. UMGC NTC sites | None |
| Sitting fee, described OCONUS UMGC NTCs | USD 35 per appointment, paid to the NTC |
| Applicable tax | Added where required |
One quirk worth knowing: the current ASE fee table labels its price row for MIL2 through MIL8 as "Military Fundamentals," which does not match the exam names. The USD 94 figure is taken from the explicit exam-code range that includes MIL8. Because the registration fee is charged per order, registering for more than one test at once spreads that USD 34 across the order. For the full cost picture, including retake considerations, see MIL8 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for timing, see MIL8 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Experience Requirement and Renewal
Passing the exam alone does not produce certification. ASE requires an approved record of two years of full-time repair-technician experience, or an accepted part-time equivalent or formal-training substitution. Candidates may take the test before they meet this requirement, but certification is awarded only once ASE approves the experience record. A passing score earned early is not lost while you accumulate qualifying time. Details are covered in MIL8 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What Is Not Verified
A current MIL8-specific passing-score threshold and pass rate were not confirmed in the public issuer sources reviewed for this page. Treat any specific cut score or pass percentage you see quoted elsewhere with caution unless it cites ASE directly. We discuss what can and cannot be known in MIL8 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and MIL8 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. For a realistic view of difficulty, see How Hard Is the MIL8 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
If you only have a few weeks, order your review by weight and dependency rather than studying in the exam's listed order.
PMCS Documentation and Procedures, plus Cab and Body
- Learn the PMCS process vocabulary first; it frames every later question
- Cover the safety-related cab and body checks
Frame and Chassis
- Spend the most time here: 13 of 40 scored questions
- Work through suspension, steering, brakes, driveline, and wheel-end items
Electrical/Electronics and Engine Systems
- Cover batteries, charging, lighting, and wiring, then fluids, belts, and cooling
Road/Operational Test and timed practice
- Review observation-based questions, then simulate 50 questions in 60 minutes
Practice under the real time limit; 60 minutes for 50 questions leaves roughly a minute and a bit per item. You can run timed drills on the MIL8 practice test site, and add more question variety through the full practice question bank.
Where the Credential Gets Used
MIL8 fits technicians who maintain military tactical wheeled vehicles: personnel in military maintenance roles, civilian and contractor maintainers supporting military fleets, and technicians moving from military service into civilian heavy vehicle work. Whether it pays off for you depends on your career path, so read MIL8 Jobs, MIL8 Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and Is the MIL8 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 before committing. Preparation resources are collected at MIL8 Training.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam administers 50 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes. Forty are scored and ten are unscored research questions that are not identified to you.
Frame and Chassis, at 33% of the exam and 13 scored questions. Electrical/Electronics is next at 20% with eight scored questions.
No. It is a written knowledge content area with four scored questions on the same computer-based exam, not a separate practical assessment.
Register and pay in myASE, then book your appointment at a location-specific NTC. The Military Program page says not to use myASE appointment scheduling or call Prometric for this route. Initial testing is in person.
No, you may test first. However, certification requires ASE approval of two years of full-time repair-technician experience, or an accepted part-time equivalent or formal-training substitution.
For definitions and background, you can also review What Is MIL8? and What Does MIL8 Stand For?, then return to the practice tests to check how much of this cheat sheet you can recall under time pressure.